Open Hours
Off Season
Mondays
10am - 2pm
or by appointment.
 

The support of the Government of Ontario, through the Ministry of Tourism and Culture, is acknowledged.


 

Welcome To Glengarry

The Archives are located within the Manor House in the quiet, historic village of Williamstown, Ontario. Some of our records date as far back as the late 1700's.

When the land registry offices changed to microfilm records in the 1990's, local history groups acquired the land record abstracts for Glengarry County. The Manor House Committee, a dedicated group of volunteers had these abstracts bound into 30 volumes (actually oversized books). The committee has worked over many years to preserve and share these and other related documents

The Glengarry Archives were established in order to stimulate interest and facilitate local history and genealogical research. People come from across North America to search the archives while tracing their family history.

CURRENT HAPPENINGS:
Come experience a "Ghost" Walk!
Come on The Daytime Walking Tour of Historic Williamstown
Conduct Paranormal Investigations at the Manor House.
See our Events page for more details on the above.....

Archive Holdings: Land Record Abstracts and associated documents such as wills, mortgages, bills of sale, etc. Associated instruments (deeds) from 1867 to the 1990's are also found in our records (those prior to 1867 are housed in the Ontario Archives)

Church Records
- Glengarry Church indexes of baptisms, marriages, and burials, and cemetery transcriptions, compiled by Alex Fraser & Duncan D. MacDonald
- copies of original registers from Williamstown churches.
Biographical Information on Sir John Johnson
- notably the research papers of Frank Risteen
Tweedsmuir history books, Picnic Grove Women's Institute
Loyalist and Glengarry County history books
Local family histories and documents
Photographs and maps

Come search with us!